Winter Is Upon Us

Window frost feathers

The temperature dropped down to -23°C/-9°F last night and when we woke up, before sunrise, the inside thermometer read barely 10°C/50°F. But the wood stove was soon roaring, hot cups of tea were poured and porridge was bubbling.

By the look of things, there’s no point trying to open the front door: frozen!

I spent the morning finishing my book and trying out some knitting tricks. I went back to my watercolor lettering experiments in the afternoon. Cleaning and straightening up a couple of calligraphy nibs was definitely useful to avoid ruining the paper, but did not solve the annoying ink (well, paint) flow problem I had. The paint kept forming a drop at the back of the nib instead of flowing onto the paper, which back in the lab, I would have called a surface tension issue – typical! Dipping the tip of the nib in soapy water did the job. If anyone knows about unwanted long-term effects of adding soap to watercolors, I’ll be really happy to know.

Now I need to practice shaping letters and layout. That’s tonight’s program, and I’m off to my desk! The house is getting (a bit) warmer, freshly baked loaves of bread just came out of the oven where they were replaced by a pot of baked-beans-to-be. Really, I wouldn’t trade this life for any other one.

a cat on the desk


more glimpses of life


follow

bloglovin’ || pinterest || twitter

5 thoughts on “Winter Is Upon Us

  1. Sounds like a really cozy day! I have a love/hate relationship to this cold. It’s a usual winter for me, this drop of temperature, and I like the fresh high air and the sun. But at the same time it’s almost painful to go outside and having to go to the university, grocery shopping or whatever. Mm, wonderful wintertime!

    1. Hehe, yes, I saved the grocery shopping for later today: already got my nose frozen and dried from going outside for two minutes to plug in the engine heater cable 😉

Leave a Reply

