Watching The Northern Lights

Watching the Northern Lights || Watercolor Painting || bymarion
There is a pile of new year cards on my desk today. While I’m writing all these, here is a little northern lights painting I made last month for my brother’s birthday. After this first attempt, I made another (hopefully better) one for which I was more careful to pre-wet the paper before painting the sky, so that the background color would turn out more homogeneous, and the colors of the aurora would merge nicely with the background. Just like for the winter woods painting, I used salt to get the starry night/frost effect. I’m having a lot of fun with that technique.


other things on my desk


follow

bloglovin’ || pinterest || twitter

 

12 thoughts on “Watching The Northern Lights

Leave a Reply

