Birch Forest Song: the final painting

Birch Forest Song || Watercolor and cut paper collage || by marion

And here is the final piece!

When I showed the preliminary drawing to the friend who commissioned the piece, she said that she liked the new composition, but that she would prefer it without the leaves on the forest floor. Instead, she suggested using little touches of color to represent the carpet of leaves.

I was happy to do so. I also decided to add some yellow foliage in the background, since the top part looked too empty.

I painted the black and white birches, the leaves and the bird on separate pieces of paper before cutting them and gluing them onto the background.

And finally, I painted some drop shadows which were a great improvement since they really added some depth.

I’m quite happy with the result. But most importantly, this was a super interesting and fun project to work on. My friend was great at giving me constructive feedback along the process (and very patient, too!). It really helped me to improve the piece and learn tons of new skills.

 


follow

bloglovin’ || pinterest || twitter

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Birch Forest Song: the final painting

  1. Wow! Wow! Wow! Very interesting composition! It conveys the beauty and the mystery of the forest. Top-notch and professional-grade work. Love it, dear Marion! πŸ™‚

  2. WOOOOW Marion! This is so beautiful. Congrats, I’m happy to see you’re doing such a great work.
    Once again congrats!
    Hugs from Oslo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

