Holiday Windows: Two Cards

Color pencil Scandinavian Holidays Greeting Cards by Marion

I can’t say I’m excited about changing the clock to winter time next weekend. But then there are snowflakes on the weather forecast and soon, there will twinkling stars popping at the windows.

I remember taking the longer route home through the streets of Ullevål this time of year, gazing at all the delicately illuminated windows. For me, coming from places where fairy lights often tend to be overly flashing and unreasonably multicolored, the Scandinavian take on holiday decorating is perfection. It’s truly magical.

Drawing these cards, I found myself looking at those windows from the inside. Such a nice feeling !

Holiday card drawing process || by marion

 

My main focus these days was to create scenes in which something “happens”: this is something I want to get better at, because often my drawings are kind of “static”.

Interiors are also high on the list of things I want to practice drawing (I am a homebody, after all!). Several persons commented about my christmas tree design that I should try adding a background to the scene. So, it was time to give it a try.

What was the most difficult was to decide how to mix a “kid’s drawing-like”, geometric style with a little bit of perspective. Also, depending on the texture and the direction on the lines in the background, I either ended up with a cold, empty room feeling or (hopefully!) a warm and cozy one.

Here again, the best way for me to experiment and correct mistakes as I went was to draw everything on paper with colored pencils and merge the different parts digitally.

I am getting the files ready to send to the printer, and hope to add these two cards to my little shop soon!


follow

bloglovin’ || pinterest || twitter

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Holiday Windows: Two Cards

  1. Du är så duktig Marion! Vilken fantasi och kreativitet. Underbart fina julkort! Uppdatera när de finns i butiken eller skicka ett mail så får Bastien ta med sig några hem till mig! 🙂

  2. Marion, j’adore tes nouvelles cartes!! Je comprends ton besoin de rendre les choses plus dynamiques, mais l’animation dans le post va un peu trop vite pour admirer les détails des magnifiques dessins intermédiaires…Je vois que vous avez adopté un rouge-gorge; vas-tu aussi suspendre des boules rouges et grises pour voir si le rouge-gorge les prend pour ses amis (?) 🙂

    1. Merci ! 🙂 Oui, j’ai pensé qu’un rouge gorge ferait un peu de compagnie à ce lutin, qui me semblait un peu seul sur la première version. Je t’envoie un mail avec les dessins intermédiaires!

Leave a Reply

