Internet (And Frugal Art Supplies)

No gnomes this time! When I saw the theme for this week on illustration friday, it was an abstract network that came to my mind.

Here is what I made it with:

  • A piece of cardboard from a post package as a “canvas”
  • Envelopes that once contained tax returns, a letter from my grandma and whatnot
  • Colorful bits from selected pages of catalogues, tracts, museum brochures and recycling instructions. (I keep these organized by colors in a box that’s moved with me in three different places. Crazy ?) I chose only mat papers so that I wouldn’t get any reflections when taking a picture with the flash.
  • Homemade wheatpaste.  It has the perfect drying time for this kind of work and it’s super efficient.
  • Tools: scissors, a scalpel knife and self healing cutting mat. Oh, and washers as circle-drawing guides!

collage making desk

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Internet (And Frugal Art Supplies)

Leave a Reply

